Sunday, October 12, 2008

Writ in Blood: Serenity Falls 1 by James A. Moore

Writ in Blood: Serenity Falls 1 (Serenity Falls) Writ in Blood: Serenity Falls 1 by James A. Moore

Serenity Falls is dead. No commerce, tourism, or good will. It gets worse.

An historian has uncovered the town's unspeakable past: lynchings, mass murders, sexual depravity, and rumors of the birth of the anti-Christ. But the darkest secret is yet to be revealed--in the Serenity Falls trilogy.

My review

rating: 5 of 5 stars
I completely enjoyed this book. It is written in a very interesting style that has us bouncing back and forth between three different story lines.

In one we are following Simon MacGruder, and elderly man who has recently felt compelled to investigate and write the history of Serenity Falls, a town where he has spent his life. The history that he writes is not what you would typically find in the History books, though. It is a much more morbid history of all of the tragedies and atrocities visited upon or committed by the citizens of Serenity Falls throughout it's history.

The second part is that history of Serenity Falls as it would be written for a book. From the first settlers and the barbaric death that they visited upon one of the female settlers, through a history, that does not leave any of the descendants of those first settlers untouched by tragedy.

The third part of the book follows a Hunter by the name of Jonathan Crowley. Jonathan follows and kills evil supernatural beings across the country. He does not visit Serenity Falls in this book, but I have no doubt that it will be his destination in one of the next two books in the series.

Looking forward to reading the rest of this series as well!

View all my reviews.

No comments: